Manchester Times

Follow Us On:

8 to run for 3 alderman seats in August Manchester municipal election

Posted on Monday, April 21, 2014 at 11:25 am

Eight people have qualified as candidates for three available aldermanic seats in the August 7 Manchester Municipal Election. If elected, most of those would be newcomers to the board.

josh petersonAlderman Cheryl Swan is the only incumbent seeking re-election. Aldermen Donny Parsley and Roxanne Patton did not file petitions to seek re-election.

Also qualifying to run for alderman are Tim Kilgore, J. Sam Miller, Claude S. Morse, Chris Robison, Lana Matthews Sain, Gary A. Trail and Nelson Leonard Watson. The deadline to file petitions was at noon on April 3.

The three candidates who receive the most votes in the Aug. 7 election will serve four-year terms. The terms for current aldermen Russell Bryan, Tim Pauley and Ryan French, along with Manchester Mayor Lonnie Norman, run through 2016.

There are also three seats on the Manchester School Board up for grabs in the Aug. 7 municipal election, but it appears as if they will be filled by incumbents.

Lisa Gregory, Travis Hillis and Susan Wood, all incumbents, are the only three candidates to qualify for the race. The seats are four-year terms.

2014 election logo blueMeanwhile, four of the seven seats on the Coffee County School Board are up for grabs in the August County General Election. Incumbents Brett Henley (Seat 3) and Freda Jones (Seat 2) are running unopposed. Meanwhile, incumbent Marilyn G. Morris will face Pat Barton for Seat 4 and Sandra Klonaris is the only candidate who qualified for Seat 6. Longtime board member Reggie Johnson did not pick up a petition to seek re-election. All school board seats are four-year terms.

The deadline to register to vote in the August 7 County General and Manchester Municipal elections is Tuesday, July 8. Early voting will be July 18 through Aug. 2.

To register to vote, visit the Coffee County Election Commission office at 1329 McArthur St. Suite 6 or visit