Manchester Times

Follow Us On:

Coffee County Commission will see new faces

Posted on Friday, August 8, 2014 at 10:48 am

Several Coffee County Commission seats will be filled with new faces after the Coffee County General Election Thursday night.

Todd Crockett will be the new commissioner for District 3, picking up 321 votes over Jon Robinson’s 224. Crockett takes over the seat from outgoing commissioner Wilma Thomas.

In District 7, incumbent Eric Chance was defeated by just nine votes by Margaret Cunningham. Chance finished with 232 votes to Cunningham’s 241.

In District 8, incumbent Kerry Farrar held on to his seat with 316 votes to defeat Chip Schultz with 287 votes.

District 9 will see a new commissioner with David Orrick tallying 234 votes to Brent “Cowboy” Gilreath’s 196. Orrick takes over for Lee Duckett, who did not seek re-election.

District 11 will also receive new representation from Diane Argraves, who defeated Byron Burnett 254-204. Argraves takes over for Barry West, who she defeated in the spring primary.

Incumbent Tim Morris will keep his seat in District 12 after picking up 275 votes to best challenger W.D. Smith’s 227 votes.

In District 13, Major Shelton narrowly defeated Christopher Ryan Clanton – by just three votes. Shelton finished with 303 and Clanton with 300. Shelton takes over for outgoing commissioner Rennie Bell.

Republican incumbent Mark Kelly held off challenger Zak Mohyuddin in District 15 by a large margin, 408-244.

Incumbent Jimmy Bradford was unseated by Kimberly Martin in District 17. Martin picked up 100 votes to Bradford’s 78.

In District 18, Barbara Buckner finished with 217 votes to beat Robert Gilliam with 135 votes. Buckner will take over for outgoing commissioner Myra Patton.

Incumbent Rush Bricken easily distanced himself from challenger Larry Allen in the District 21 race, 352-166.

One commission race is actually still up for grabs. In district 14, Lamar Wilkie and Missy Deford are deadlocked at 254 votes each. However, according to election officials, one provisional ballot was cast without a photo ID. If that person shows a photo ID before 4:30 p.m. Monday, his/her vote will be counted.

In uncontested Coffee  County Commission races, Warren Walker, Steven Jones, Sam Mai, Bobby Bryan, Dennis Hunt, Harold Speer, Jr., Tim Stubblefield, Jackie Duncan and Rosemary Crabtree were all elected.