Manchester Times

Follow Us On:

ELECTION RESULTS: Brown wins Dem. primary for Coffee County mayor

Posted on Tuesday, May 6, 2014 at 10:49 am

Despite a crowded ballot — particularly on the Democratic side — voter turnout in Coffee County in Tuesday’s primary was light.

According to the Coffee County Election Commission, only 19 percent of the registered voters in the county cast ballots in this week’s primary. All results below are unofficial.

Coffee County Mayor
Tim Brown won the Democratic primary, defeating Bill Nickels by a margin of 81 votes. Brown tallied a total of 2,304 votes to Nickels’ 2,223.
Republican Gary Cordell ran unchallenged in the GOP primary, receiving 886 votes.

Register of Deeds
The Democratic primary to replace Ellen Vaughn as the county’s register of deeds was one of the most hotly contested races on the ballot Tuesday. Vaughn decided not to seek re-election, retiring after a 37-year tenure in county government.
The Democratic nomination was locked up by Leann Hollandsworth Partin, who received 1,855 votes, and will face Donna Robison Toney in the August general election. Toney received 921 votes in the uncontested GOP primary. Other results in the Democratic primary included: Andy Farrar, 541 votes; Tracey Hershman Weibert, 1,095 votes and Teresa Green Wright, 1,010 votes.
Partin said she was grateful to everyone who turned out to vote for her.
“I’m humbled and very thankful for the support,” she said. “I’m excited about August.”

General Sessions
Judge Part II
The Democratic primary for General Sessions judge was a two-man race, with incumbent Jere Ledsinger facing a challenge from Jason M. Ponder. Voters selected Ledsinger, who will face Jason Huskey in the general election. Ledsinger was supported by 2,658 voters, while Ponder garnered 1,765 votes. Huskey, who ran unchallenged in the GOP primary, received 877 votes.

District Attorney
Both candidates for this seat ran unopposed in their respective primaries. Democrat Mickey Lane, the incumbent, received 3,691 votes. Republican Craig Northcott, received 920 votes.

County Trustee
A field of four candidates sought the Democratic nod to run for the available county trustee seat. Rodney Banks was the winner with 1,521 votes. Josh Morris, received 951 votes; Roxanne Patton garnered 1,195 and Donna Willis received 805. John Marchesoni easily locked up the GOP nod for the seat, receiving 958 votes in an uncontested race.

Road Superintendent
Voters will have three candidates to choose from in the August election for the road superintendent post. Democratic primary voters endorsed Steve Moran, who totaled 2,055 votes. His opponent, Ronnie Dale Watts, received 1,782 votes. Benton Bartlett was unchallenged in the GOP primary, securing 989 votes. Also on the ballot this summer will be Independent Scott Hansert.

Coffee County
In the primary for the Democratic nomination for the District 15 seat on the Coffee County Commission, voters selected Zak Mohyuddin, casting a total of 120 votes in his favor. Dennis Teal received 78 votes from Democrats in the district. Mohyuddin will face Republican Mark Kelly in August’s general election. Kelly, who was uncontested in his party’s primary this week, received 62 votes.
“I thank those who voted and I will keep the trust to ask the right questions, to identify practical solutions for the community,” Mohyuddin said.
Incumbent Steven Jones held off challenger Gene Taylor in the Democratic Primary 100 votes to 71 for commission District 2..
In District 3, political newcomer Jon Robinson defeated incumbent Wilma Thomas in the Democratic primary with 159 votes to Thomas’ 148.
Commissioner Bobby Bryan held off a challenge in District 5 from James Boyd, winning 140 votes to 107.
In the Republican primary for District 6, Dennis Hunt dispatched Mitchell Reed 40 votes to 12.
In District 11 Diane Argraves ran away from incumbent Barry West. Argraves picked up 170 votes to West’s 62.
In District 17, the primary was a preview of August’s general election, as both races were uncontested. Incumbent Jimmy Bradford, a Democrat, received the support of 54 voters, while Republican Kimberly Martin received 13 votes.
It was the same story in District 18, where Barbara Buckner secured the GOP nod with 36 votes, while Democrat Robert Gilliam secured his party’s endorsement with 69 votes.
Incumbent Rush Bricken, a Republican, was unchallenged in his primary, receiving 50 votes in his bid to retain the District 21 county commission seat. Although there was no Democratic candidate for that seat, Bricken will face a contested race this summer. Larry Allen, an Independent, will be on the ballot in the August general election.
Several county commission races were effectively general elections in their respective party’s primaries since candidates were unopposed in their respective party’s primary and no candidates ran from the opposite side of the aisle.
Tim Stubblefield, a Republican, won the Tullahoma District 16 seat on the county commission with 102 votes. Stubblefield will fill the seat formerly occupied by Robin Hines, who died in November 2013. His wife, Gail Hines, was appointed in January to fill the remainder of her husband’s term.
Incumbent Jackie Duncan, a Democrat, was re-elected to another four-year term representing District 19 on the Coffee County Commission, receiving 58 votes.
Democrat Rosemary Crabtree was elected to fill the District 20 seat on the commission, receiving 104 votes. Crabtree will take the seat currently held by Gary Kidd, who did not seek re-election.

Seat 4 Constable
for Districts 3, 14, 15
Once again, the Democratic primary was the only contested race in this election. Danny Davis won the nomination with 428 votes. James V. Sanders received 210 votes. Republican Jeremiah Vandagriff, who ran without a challenger, received 182 votes.
The following are unofficial election results from the Coffee County Election Commission in Tuesday’s contested primaries. Results are not official until the vote is certified.

Coffee County Mayor Democratic primary
Tim Brown – 2304
Bill Nickels – 2223

Coffee County Trustee Democratic primary
Rodney Banks – 1521
Roxanne Patton – 1195
Josh Morris – 951
Donna Willis – 805

Coffee County Register of Deeds Democratic Primary
LeAnn Partin – 1865
Tracy Weibert – 1095
Teresa Wright – 1010
Andy Farrar – 541

General Sessions Judge Democratic Primary
Jere Ledsinger – 2658
Jason Ponder – 1765

Road Superintendent
Steve Moran – 2055
Ronnie Watts- 1782

Coffee County Commission District 2 Democratic Primary
Steven Jones – 100
Gene Taylor – 71

Coffee County Commission District 3 Democratic Primary
Jon Robinson – 159
Wilma Thomas – 148

Coffee County Commission District 5 Democratic Primary
James Boyd – 107
Bobby Bryan – 140

Coffee County Commission District 6 Republican Primary
Dennis Hunt- 40
Mitchell Reed -12

Coffee County Commission District 11 Democratic Primary
Diane Argraves – 170
Barry West – 62

Coffee County Commission District 14 Democratic Primary
Missy Deford – 139
Keith Thacker – 126

Coffee County Commission District 15 Democratic Primary
Zak Mohyuddin – 120
Dennis Teal – 78

Constable Seat 1 Republican Primary
Sylvester Norman – 398
Ricky Clark – 333

Road Commissioner Seat 2 Republican Primary
Qualls – 360
Mitchell – 145

Constable Seat 4 Republican Primary
Davis – 428
Sanders – 210