Manchester Times

Follow Us On:

HIGH SCHOOL GOLF: Knoxville Halls holds big lead at state tourney; Red Raiders face big deficit

Posted on Tuesday, October 3, 2017 at 11:23 pm

Demarco Moore, Sports Writer 

MANCHESTER, Tenn. — With the 2017 TSSAA Large Class State Golf Tournament officially underway, the boys from East Tennessee have a firm grip atop the leaderboard after day one at Willowbrook Golf Course.

Knoxville Halls High School leads the eight-team field after posting a 3-over-par 291 overall, thanks largely to seniors Ryan Hall and Jake Hall (no relation) shooting under-par rounds on the day.

Ryan fired a 6-under-par 66, which left him in first place overall as well, while Jake shot a 1-under-par 71 for the Red Devils.

For the Coffee County Central High School golf team, a hot start to round one left the Red Raiders in a good position early, most notably when senior Reid Lawrence eagled the par-4 first hole. But Coffee County struggled on the back stretch at Willowbrook, eventually ending the day in seventh place with a 324 team score, 33 strokes behind Knoxville Halls.

“The boys were disappointed in today’s results,” said CCHS head coach Mike Ray.

“After the round I told them that we are better than that, and that I have every confidence they will go out and show that tomorrow.

Coffee County senior Reid Lawrence attempts an approach shot on the second hole at Willowbrook Golf Course. (Staff photo by Demarco Moore)

They all said that they knew they left some strokes out on the course and that tomorrow will be a different day.”

Junior Samuel Prater had the low round for the Red Raiders, firing a 3-over-par 75 that put him in a tie for 14th place. Josh Perry finished 8-over, Austin Farris came in at 12-over par, Lawrence fired a 13-over par and Matthew Hale rounded out the day shooting an 18-over par.

Hendersonville (10-over-par 298) and Walker Valley rounded out the top three teams after round one.

The Red Raiders tee off from hole No. 10 on Wednesday morning for round two in the following order:

9 a.m. — Matthew Hale

9:10 a.m. — Reid Lawrence  

9:20 a.m. — Austin Farris

9:30 a.m. — Josh Perry

9:40 a.m. — Samuel Prater

Reach Demarco Moore at, and follow him on Twitter @iam__demo