The electoral college needs to be fixed so that votes in Tennessee would matter. All the attention now goes to about 7 closely divided states. The president should be elected in the same way as we fill our other offices, and the winner should be the person who receives the most votes.

In January 2016, the National Popular Vote bill was introduced by Senator Jim Tracy (SB 1657) and representative Cameron Sexton (R) introduced the National Popular Vote bill into the Tennessee House of Representatives (HB 1728). Prime co-sponsors include Representatives Pat Marsh (R), Jon Lundberg (R), Kevin Brooks (R), Steve McManus (R), Ron Travis (R), Dennis Powers (R), Curtis G. Johnson (R), and Glen Casada (R).

It's time to make Tennessee important again. Let's pass the bill this session.



Chris Robison