The Coffee County Political Forum, sponsored by The Manchester Times and Thunder Radio, will be held from 5:30 to 9 p.m. on Thursday at the Church at 117 in Manchester.

The church is located at 117 E. Fort St.

Focusing on county races, the forum’s goal is to inform voters and raise awareness for the upcoming Aug. 2 elections. In addition to the county general election, Tullahoma and Manchester municipal races will be decided on that day. State primary races will also be on the ballot.

Candidates for county mayor, county sheriff and Manchester City alderman will participate in debate-style sessions with questions from moderators.

Candidates for county trustee, road superintendent, county clerk, circuit court clerk, register of deeds and school board positions will each be given four minutes to speak and answer questions.

The schedule is as follows:


Mayoral candidate debate

6:05-6:35 p.m. – Tim Brown, Gary Cordell and David Pennington


Sheriff candidate debate

7:04-7:34 p.m. – Steve Graves and Chad Partin


County candidate statements

5:30-5:34 p.m. – Robin Dunn (trustee)

5:35-5:39 p.m. – John Marchesoni (trustee)

5:40-5:44 p.m. – Ronnie Watts (road superintendent)

5:45-5:49 p.m. – Benton Bartlett (road superintendent)

5:50-5:54 p.m. – Jenna Amacher (county clerk)

5:55-5:59 p.m. – Teresa McFadden (county clerk)

6:40-6:44 p.m. – Natalie Brooke Dotson (circuit court clerk)

6:45-6:49 p.m. – Heather Hinds Duncan (circuit court clerk)

6:50-6:54 p.m. – Teresa Wright (register of deeds)

6:55-6:59 p.m. – Donna Toney (register of deeds)

7:39-7:43 p.m. – Steve Jernigan (school board seat 4)

7:44-7:48 p.m. – Pat Barton (school board seat 4)


Manchester candidate statements

7:49-7:53 p.m. – James “Jim” Lemmons (school board)

7:54-7:58 p.m. – Prater Powell (school board)

7:59-8:03 p.m. – Travis Hillis (school board)

8:04-8:08 p.m. – Lisa Lovelady Gregory (school board)


Manchester alderman debate

8:13-9:00p.m. – Tammie Fuller, Terence Hillsman, Marilyn Howard, Mark Messick, Bill Nickels, Donny Parsley, James Threet


Candidates for the Tullahoma municipal and state seats will not participate in the forum, but will appear on the Aug. 2 ballot. 


Tullahoma municipal election

In Tullahoma, the terms of aldermen Jimmy Blanks and Ray Knowis are expiring. Both will be seeking re-election, facing a challenge from Stephen Landers.

Voters will also cast ballots for two city school board members, as the terms of Amy Johnson and Steve Lynn expire.  Both will appear on the ballot unchallenged.


State seats

On the state level, voters will cast ballots to select a governor, fill U.S. Senate and House of Representative seats, and install a state executive committeeman and committeewoman.

Candidates to replace term-limited Gov. Bill Haslam in the governor’s chair are: Republicans Diane Black, Randy Boyd, Beth Harwell, Bill Lee, Basil Marceaux Sr. and Kay White; Democrats Karl Dean, Craig Fitzhugh and Mezianne Vale Payne.

Candidates to replace term-limited Sen. Bob Corker in the U.S. Senate are: Republicans Marsha Blackburn and Aaron L. Pettigrew; Democrats Phil Bredesen, Gary Davis and John Wolfe.

Candidates to replace Rep. Diane Black, who is making an end-of-term run for governor, in House District 6 are:  Republicans Bob Corlew, Judd Matheny, Christopher Brian Monday, John Rose, Lavern Vivio; Democrats Dawn Barlow, Christopher Martin Finley, Peter Heffernan and Merrilee Wineinger.

Candidates to replace Rep. Judd Matheny, who is seeking a federal seat, in the Tennessee House of Representatives District 47 are: Republicans Rush Bricken and Ronnie Holden; Democrat Mike Winton.

Candidates for state executive committeeman in District 16 are: Republican Jerry Anderson and Democrats Bobby E. Bush Jr. and Robin Smith.

Candidates for state executive committeewoman in District 16 are: Republicans Amanda Angel and Joanne P. Davis; Democrats Rupa Blackwell and Betty Newman. Currently serving are Bill Green and Frances Arthur.


Early voting

Early voting begins July 13 and ends on July 28.  Tullahoma residents may cast early ballots at the C.D. Stamps Community Center at 810 S. Jackson St. Polls will be open from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, and from 9 a.m. to noon on Saturdays.